SGA’s president appoints four senators to the V.L. Roy Service Day committee


Tyrenisha James

Senators Leah Thompson, Chelsea Calup, Myah Washington, Alexandria Walker, Jonatan Jimenez and Jaion Williams partake in Valentine’s Day festivities.

On Feb. 14, Student Government Association President Tja’h Edwards appointed Malaya White, Bailey Willis, Hannah Davis and Ebenezer Aggrey to the V.L. Roy Service Day committee.

Mary-Katherine Horton, director of Fraternal Leadership and Civic Engagement, reported that 200 students attended Leadership NSU.

Edwards reported that SGA will be in partnership with the National Pan-Hellenic Council, College Panhellenic, and Phi Kappa Phi serving the Women’s luncheon on March 16.

Commissioner Courville stated that a student reached out to him regarding the bathrooms in Iberville Dining hall. Courville got in contact with the Executive Director of University Affairs for Auxiliary Services Jennifer Kelly and a work order has been submitted.

Courville reported that next week SGA will take part in National Eating Disorder Awareness week.

Commissioner Lummis announced Amyah Washington as senator of the week.

Senator Blake Chutz and Senator Hannah Davis sponsored R.S. 2022-05 which is to encourage everyone to partake in National Eating Disorder Awareness week.

Senator Malaya White and Senator Alexandria Walker sponsored R.S. 2022-06 which is to encourage the Northwestern State community to attend TRIO day.